Georgetown University Rugby Football Club

Est. 1967

About Us

The Georgetown University Rugby Football Club was founded in 1967 with a current membership of over 80 undergraduate students, competing in the Chesapeake Collegiate Rugby Conference Men's College Division 1AA. Georgetown won the Potomac Rugby Union Championship in 2002, 2004, 2008 and won the MARFU Championship in 2005 and 2010. The Hoyas qualified for the National Division II Final 4 in 2005 and 2009. 

GURFC established a program for Rugby Sevens in 2013 to compete in this fastest growing version of rugby. The Sevens side experienced immediate success, winning the Bowl championship at the Las Vegas Invitational Sevens Tournament in 2015.  They play in numerous regional and league tournaments during the spring of each year, including the Chesapeake Collegiate Rugby Conference Sevens Series.

Georgetown University is located in Washington, DC. As the nation's oldest Catholic university since 1789, Georgetown is comprised of about 7,000 undergraduates. The University’s vision is in its commitment to Catholic, Jesuit education in the liberal arts tradition, with respect for diversity and open dialogue in the pursuit of truth.

Bowl Champions Las Vegas Invitational Sevens Tournament (2015)
James River Christmas Sevens Tournament Champions (2014)
Potomac Rugby Union Division II Champions (2002, 2004, 2009
Mid-Atlantic Rugby Football Union (MARFU) Champions (2005, 2010)
Cherry Blossom Tournament Champions (2005, 2008, 2011, 2014)
3rd Place Nationals (2005, 2009)
Mardi Gras Tournament Champions (2003)

Capitol Cup Champions (1998-2014, 2016

Academic All-Americans
Chris Coffey '16

Donald Angelini '17

Chen Han '17

Cal Mullan '17

Jaryt Reed '17

Preston Carter Rise '17

Marc Akinbi '18

Francois Valentin '18

Tyler Welsh '18

Peter Cohen '15
Cormac Carr '15
Chen Han '17
Jaryt Reed '17
Donald Angelini '17
Preston Carter Rise '17

Isaac Freedman '14
Mark Kassardijian '14
Steven Keithley '14
Nicholas Nathan '15
Cormac Carr '15

Paul Doherty '13
Michael McGilvery '13
Mark Kassardijian '14
Steven Keithley '14